Tuesday, February 2, 2016

The First Class

On February 2, 1936 the inaugural Hall of Fame election results were announced. There were five players who made the cut in 1936.

The cards below commemorate this First Class. They come from 1996 Collector's Choice.

Babe Ruth

Ty Cobb

Walter Johnson

Christy Mathewson

Honus Wagner

There were 20 additional members elected after the initial election and before the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum actually opened on June 12, 1939. Lou Gehrig was added late in 1939 after it was clear his playing days were over.

1 comment: